Beyenburgerin Design

Stricken Spinnen Knipsen Energie

Vest Crepidula

Posted by beyenburgerin - Februar 17, 2009

Crepidula is knit top-down.

Crepidula is very appropriate for changing/variegated colours because you can knit top-down with one single thread without breaking. You knit as long as there is wool left or you reach the desired length. You can also knit the lower egde with some matching yarn.

One size, about sizes L to XXL

Link to pattern page

Crepidula from Evilla wool

51 Antworten to “Vest Crepidula”

  1. montucky said

    Those are so beautiful!

  2. pam addoms said

    dear Brigette- I e-mailed you a few weeks ago about the 6 mm size needle you call for on your beautiful Crepidula vest. I made a swatch with a 6 mm, and it seems very loose. Were you using Kauni 8/2? Can you tell me the gauge you got for a 10 cm square, please? I would really appreciate it since I can’t wait to get started on this–your pattern is just so gorgeous !! Thank you , Pam

  3. beyenburgerin said

    Hi Pam,

    the gauge for 10 x 10 cm is 15 stitches and 24 rows.

    Greetings

    Brigitte

  4. Norma said

    Lovely! I’m ready to try it == and add sleeves.
    Thank you for the pattern.

  5. Kokolat said

    hello,

    thank you for this pattern

    I started it this morning

    Friendly

  6. beyenburgerin said

    You are very welcome, Kokolat.

    Brigitte

  7. Robyn said

    Beautiful!

  8. JanetLee said

    I really like this pattern have have difficulties trying to follow a chart. Do you have this written out? It really is beautiful and I would like to do it.

    JanetLee

  9. beyenburgerin said

    Hi Janet,

    I will add that, just give me a bit of time, I am pretty busy at the moment.

    Brigitte

  10. JanetLee said

    Brigitte,

    Thank you so very much. I truly enjoy just looking at the finished work and hope to do one someday!

    Thank you again.

    JanetLee

  11. beyenburgerin said

    Hi JanetLee, the written chart is online. I added it below the pattern. You still need the pattern plus the written chart.

    Brigitte

  12. JanetLee said

    Brigitte,

    Thank you so very much! I really appreciate it.

    JanetLee

  13. Julia said

    Hallo,

    danke erstmal für die Anleitung für diese wunderschöne Weste!
    Ich stricke sie gerade mit Lana Grossa Solo nach. Allerdings würde ich sie gerne mit kurzen Ärmeln und Ärmelbündchen als Abschluss stricken.
    Meinst du, ich kann die 55 “Ärmelausschnittsmaschen” einfach mit einem Faden stilllegen und später mit einem Nadelspiel fertig stricken(wie beim Raglan von oben)?Ich stricke zum ersten mal etwas etwas mit einer Rundpasse und bin ein wenig hilflos…

    Danke schon mal und liebe Grüße aus Düsseldorf,

    Julia

  14. beyenburgerin said

    Ja, du kannst die 55 Maschen für den Ärmel nehmen. Du musst dann auch die Maschen unter der Achsel für den Ärmel wieder aufnehmen.
    Schau mal hier: http://beyenburgerin.wordpress.com/2009/02/21/fornicata-2/

    LG Brigitte

  15. Julia said

    AAh jetzt ist der Groschen bei mir gefallen^^danke für die schnelle Antwort und nochmals liebe Grüße!!!

    Julia

  16. Karyn said

    Love this pattern – am eager to see if I can make the vest. 6mm = 10 american needles, BUT how many ounces or grahams of what kind of yarn would I need?? Please and Thank You.

  17. beyenburgerin said

    Hi Karyn,

    The material is about 200 grams of Evilla Artyarn 8/2, which has about 800 metres. This yarn is usually for about 3.5 mm needles, but the vest is rather lacy and knit with bigger needles.

    Brigitte

  18. June said

    HI Brigette

    I love the Vest Crepidula, just printed
    every page, and I am going to make this
    lovely vest. Thank You!

  19. Barbara Fetner said

    This vest looks very interesting. I would like to make it. How many stitches do I need to cast on?
    Can’t figure that out from the instructions or comments.
    Not clear from instructions how to get the arm opening.
    What is chart 2 for?
    Thanks.
    Barbara

  20. beyenburgerin said

    Hi Barbara,

    have you read the instructions? The vest is knit top down.

    “Instructions: Cast on 83 sts with double thread ”

    The arm opening is easy if you knit top down. You just bind off the stitches for the arm opening and cast on a few new stitches in the next row so that it fits better and is more comfortable.

    Chart 1 ist the yoke and chart 2 the body of the vest.

    Brigitte

  21. Lisa said

    I am interested in beginning this vest. How do I know what size it will be?

  22. beyenburgerin said

    Hi Lisa,

    if you use a different yarn, make a swatch. Measure how wide the vest should be around the neck and calculate the number of stitches. The yoke should get so far down that it is under the middle of the armpits. Then you can bind off for the armholes. This wy you can knit any size, it should always match. Some people who knitted smaller sizes just took sock yarn.

    Brigitte

  23. Shirley Wiedenhoeft said

    Hello, I would like to make this vest. Would you please explain the abbreviation, ssk? Thanks.

  24. beyenburgerin said

    Hi Shirley,

    ssk means slip one stitch, k the next, and pass the slipped stitch over.

  25. mike irish said

    How many stitches does one knit before casting off for the armhole? How many stitches does one cast off for the armhole? How many stitches does one cast on for under the arm? I could not find these answers in the pattern. I am presently knitting it and loving it. But almost to the armhold. thank you very much.

  26. beyenburgerin said

    Hi Mike,

    please just read the pattern

    “At the end of row 63, you should have 292 stitches on the needle.
    Row 64: 49k, bind off 55 sts*, 84k, bind off 55 sts*, 49 k”

    So you have 292 stitches befor the armhole and 292 – 55 – 55 = 182 stitches

    “row 65: knit, cast on 9 sts beneath each armpit”

    As you can see, cast on 9 stitches under each arm.

    Brigitte

  27. mike irish said

    Thank you so very much

  28. mike irish said

    Ooops! I just checked my saved PDF directions. Evidently, the page I needed wasn’t printed. Thanks for being patient with me. I DO have the instructions/pattern that gives this information.

  29. beyenburgerin said

    Hi Mike,

    no problem. I hope you like the pattern.

    Brigitte

  30. Deborah said

    Brigitte,
    I just received my yarn order for this vest and am so excited. But in reading the chart and written directions, the chart says to knit rows 1 and 2, but the written instructions say to knit row 1 and purl row 2. Which is correct? Also, rows 4, 8 and 10 say to purl in the written instructions and say to knit on the chart. I am confused. Which instructions to follow? I can use either – just don’t know which one is correct. Thank you.
    Deborah

  31. beyenburgerin said

    Hi Deborah,

    both are correct. A chart shows the right side of a garment, a written instruction says what you actually have to do. Eg row 1 to 5 are stockinette with arnover in row 3. Row 6 looks like purl in the chart, but as this is a “back row” it has to be knitted knit to look purl on the right side.
    But that is the same with all charted and written instructions.

    I hope this helps you. Have fun knitting.

    Brigitte

  32. Deborah said

    Brigitte
    Thank you for answering so quickly. Now I can get busy! I have knitted from charts with written instructions before where both were identifying the stitch to make – not what it will look like on the right side. I wonder if this is a US vs European difference. I will be very careful in the future – thank you for this information.
    Deborah

  33. beyenburgerin said

    The patterns I know from the USA and Canada are that way too. Eg the patterns from Anna Dalvi or the Galveston Shawl, A Gathering of Lace, where the wrong side rows are not always knit. I only once knitted a pattern where the wrong side rows showed the actual stitches, it was pretty irritating. If the chart only shows the right side, you can see how a pattern develops and that is pretty important to keep track and avoid frogging.

    Brigitte

  34. Deborah said

    Brigitte

    This information about charts is very interesting — I am happy to have this information. Thank you for taking the time to explain it to me. Regards, Deborah

  35. beyenburgerin said

    Not the matter, enjoy knitting.

    Brigitte

  36. Deborah said

    Hello Brigitte

    I have completed my first Crepidula vest and am very happy with it. I am going to knit another one in the same gauge yarn but want it to be a bit smaller. Is there a pattern repeat of stitches that I need to reduce by so the pattern follows the instructions – such as – decrease in groups of 7 or 8, etc. I hope my question makes sense. Thank you.

    Deborah

  37. beyenburgerin said

    Hi Deborah,

    do you want it smaller in th sense of less wide or shorter? For less wide you just cast on less stitches and follow the pattern. For shorter you just stop where you want to. You can either ann the edging or bind off wherever you want. Of course it looks the nicest if ending is at least after a garter stitch row.

    Brigitte

    • Deborah said

      Brigitte

      Thank you. I want to make my second vest smaller – as in narrower. I made my first vest shorter and ended after a full section of 24 rows of chart 2 and it turned out very nice. For this vest I will cast on fewer stitches but it looks like it is important to cast on an odd number – since the original cast on is 63. Thank you.

      Deborah

  38. beyenburgerin said

    Stupid, me, I mixed up the shawl and the vest. Still you can start with less stiches. Plus you make the armholes when the length is like from the neck down to the mddile of the armhole. And then decrease proportional to the version with more stitches.

    Brigitte

  39. I absolutely love your website.. Excellent colors & theme.
    Did you make this site yourself? Please reply back as I’m attempting to create my very own site and would love to know where you got this from or exactly what the theme is called. Thank you!

  40. Monty said

    Howdy just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few
    of the pictures aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why but
    I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same outcome.

  41. Thanks in favor of sharing such a fastidious thinking, piece of writing is nice, thats why
    i have read it completely

  42. Nelda said

    Thanks so much for the lovely larger size patterns :) I am getting ready to start on the Crepidula for my daughter :)

  43. Jean said

    I see a comment thanking you for the larger size pattern of this beautiful vest. I am a larger woman and am wondering if you could share the larger size pattern with me.

    Most appreciated

    • beyenburgerin said

      Hi Jean, this is a large size and will work to at least Bust size 52″. If you need it bigger, you can take thicker yarn and thicker needles or add some more rows in the way they were set up in the yoke before.

      Brigitte

  44. Diese Weste ist echt toll, die möchte ich unbedingt machen.
    Habe aber Probleme mit Wollstärke und Nadelstärke?? Wenn ich das richtig verstanden habe, ist die angegebene Wolle vergleichbar mit Strumpfwollstärke. Wenn ich aber diese Wolle dann mit Nadel 6mm stricke…! Hoppla jetzt macht es evtl. Klick bei mir!!! Ist bei Nadelangabe 6 die englische oder deutsche Größe gemeint?? Denn englische Größe 6 ist in deutsch die Größe 4!
    Ich denke da ist von meiner Seite und von der Druckversion ein kleiner Übersetzungsfehler. Kann das sein?? So könnte ich mir das von der Anleitung her besser vorstellen.
    lg astrid

    • beyenburgerin said

      Hallo Astrid,

      Sockenwolle hat etwa 420 m je 100 g, Kauni, Evilla etc. hat 300 bis 350 m je 100 g und ist nicht so fest gezwirnt. Deshalb hat die Wolle mehr Volumen als Sockenwolle. Man kann Sockenwolle nehmen, wenn man die Passe länger strickt, bis man ausreichend Länge/Weite unter den Armlöchern hat. Allerdings wäre es einfach, eien Wolle auszusuchen, die zur Maschenprobe passt. Die Stricknadelgröße ist in Millimetern, also deutsche Stricknadelgröße.

      LG Brigitte

Kommentar verfassen

 
Folgen

Erhalte jeden neuen Beitrag in deinen Posteingang.

Schließe dich 205 Followern an

