Beyenburgerin Design

Stricken Spinnen Knipsen Energie

N-O-Ruffles Shawl

Posted by beyenburgerin - Mai 17, 2012

This shawl is part of a series of shawls. As this one has no ruffles, it is called N-O-Ruffles. And the “O” stand for the many holes in the lace pattern. The shawl looks nice from both sides, so it is reversible.

Link to pattern:

This is what the edging will look like. You start in the left upper corner and go from left top to  right bottom in this photo.

19 Antworten to “N-O-Ruffles Shawl”

  1. wieder ein toller Schal, vorallem die Farben gefallen mir sehr gut.

  2. corazon said

    Das Tuch gefällt mir total gut. Klasse finde ich die Größe bei so wenig Garnverbrauch. Ich glaub, ich werde mich mal an der Anleitung versuchen. Liest sich, als wenn ich das hinkriegen könnte. Vielen Dank für die Anleitung.

    Liebe Grüße
    Petra

  3. Helen Hall said

    Where is the pattern?

  4. beyenburgerin said

    Hi Mary,

    the yarn is a kind of sock yarn, fingering, but a single, 100 grams and 420 metres. The gauge is
    10 stitches and 13 rows = 4 inches in lace pattern, blocked.
    Have fun knitting this shawl.

    Brigitte

  5. Sandra Jump said

    Hello.

    I plan to make this shawl for a gift. Simple and lovely. I would like knit one with ruffles Is that difficult?
    Questions: How long (in inches) is 5 grams? I read that at the end of the pattern and need to know how much yarn to set aside to finish the shawl.

    Thank you so much.
    Sandra Jump

  6. Jennifer said

    So far the pattern is simple and easy to remember. Looking beautiful too. However, I really don’t understand the bind off. Am I supposed to repeat the pattern across the row? For example, Row 1 of the bind off says K2 (knit edge stitch as well), turn. So would I just knit across the whole row? Any help is appreciated.

    • beyenburgerin said

      Hi Jennifer,

      you just do very short rows and then turn after a few stitches. So you have hundreds of rows as an edging. I saw that I did not upload a photo of the edging, I will just do that sou that you can see what it looks like.

      Brigitte

      • Jennifer said

        I guess it is because I’m a beginner, but I really don’t get it. What do you do with the rest of the stitches on the needle? Hopefully by the time I get to that point, something will click.

      • beyenburgerin said

        Hi Jennifer,

        when you knit the edging, you do a change of the direction of knitting. It is like a turn of 90 degrees. You make short rows, down to the last row and away from the last row, and in each right side row you take one stitch of the main part into the edging. So you work down the edging slowly, making stitch by stitch of the last row become part of the edging until no stitches are left.

  7. Marcella said

    I have been knitting for approximately 47 years and am completely stumped by the bind off on this shawl. I have found out that 5 grams of yarn is about 23 yards but when I do the bind off rows and keep turning, I am not getting rid of any stitches. They are staying on my right hand needle. Please Help. I have put in lots of hours getting to this point.

    • beyenburgerin said

      When you do the sks in row 5, you „consume“ one stitch on the shawl eacht time. You knit the 3rd and 4th stitch together, and the 4th is one of the shawl.

      Brigitte

  8. Georgia G Lawen said

    Antwort, exactly how many skeins of yarn do you need to knit this shawl? I wish you would do a tutorial on how to complete the edging because I do not understand how this is supposed to be accomplished. Thank you.

  9. Shari Harris said

    Id like to have this pattern if only I knew how much it is…in American dollars.

    Shari Harris

    • beyenburgerin said

      Hm, Ravelry should show you the price in Dollars as well. The exchange rate varies a bit all the time. Right now 2.90 Euros is 3.94 US$.

      Brigitte

  10. Elana Anderson said

    Please inform me as to approximately how many stitches are on the needle before the starting the bind-off…

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar